Michigan’s Safe Delivery Law is in The Spotlight Again!

A newborn baby, up to 72 hours old (about 3 days) can be legally and anonymously given up – no questions asked!

 

Michigan’s safe delivery law is once again in the spotlight. With April being child abuse awareness month, the focus was on saving the lives of Michigan’s youngest residents. And so with that in mind, Governor Snyder declared April 20th Safe Delivery of Newborns Day, and agencies across the state are working to make sure that mothers know the facts about surrendering an infant to authorities in Michigan. April may be over, but unwanted babies need help all year round!

 

What is the ‘Safe Delivery Law’ in Michigan?

 

Michigan’s Safe Haven law, also known as the “safe delivery” law, took effect on January 1st. 2001. This law allows a Michigan parent to safely and anonymously surrender an infant to authorities within 72 hours, or three days, of the child’s birth. No questions asked. No legal backlash. No criminal charges.

 

Parents safely surrendering infants also have the option to confidentially share identifying information or basic health information, which will help the baby’s future adoptive family. Surrendering your baby under the Safe Haven law will never result in criminal charges against you, and will offer your baby a chance at life. It will also negate any chance that you’ll be prosecuted for neglect, abuse or abandonment of that child in the future.

 

Both the MDHHS and the MSP are spreading the word!

 

In a press release, Nick Lyon, MDHHS Director, noted the importance of Michigan’s Safe Haven Law. “Tragically, newborn infants have died due to neglect and exposure after being abandoned. This reminds us of the importance of ensuring public awareness of the Safe Delivery Law. We urge all Michiganders to help spread the word about the safe, legal and anonymous option of surrendering an infant, who will then be placed with a loving adoptive family.”

 

In addition to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, the MSP is also making an effort to get the news out there. In an interview with The Mining Journal, MSP Trooper Stacy Rasanen explains why it’s so important that parents know they have options. “There are a number of reasons that people are frightened or panicked … we want to make sure they know there’s an option that can save infants from injury.”

 

Making use of the Safe Haven Law helps avoid criminal charges!

 

Abandoning an infant was, and usually does, result in criminal charges. A parent can be charged with Child Endangerment, Child Abuse, and in extreme cases, even Murder. It can also lead to a CPS investigation that could lead to your other children being removed from your care. But surrendering your baby under the Safe Haven law will never result in criminal charges against you, and will offer your baby a chance at life.

 

If you have any questions, or simply want to discuss your options with someone who understands, call the Safe Delivery Hotline at 1-866-733-7733 or go to the Safe Haven website for more information. However, if you or a loved one have been accused of neglecting, abandoning or abusing a child, call The Kronzek Firm immediately at 866 766 5245. Our skilled child abuse and neglect defense attorneys are available 24/7 to help you handle this difficult situation.